Estimated reading time 3 min
This post has been archived and may include outdated content

European Business Awards for the Environment 2008 – National Cleantech Finland® awards


Finnish recipients of the European Business Awards for the Environment 2008 were presented on 7 November 2007 at the final seminar in Sitra’s Environmental Programme. A total of six companies were awarded in three categories. Each winner was presented with a diploma and a plate made of recycled metal. The winners of the national competition will also participate in the EU-wide European Business Awards for the Environment competition, which is organised every other year.

There were 11 entries in the Finnish national competition. The competition showed a uniformly high standard. Assessment focused on how environmentally friendly and innovative the entries were, and their performance in the market. The Minister of the Environment Kimmo Tiilikainen, assisted by Pekka Ketonen, the Chairman of the jury for the European Business Awards for the Environment and Senior Advisor to Sitra’s Environmental Programme, presented the awards to the winners in the different categories of the national Cleantech Finland® competition.

Product category
1st prize: Neste Oil Oyj, NExBTL®- Diesel fuel made from renewable raw materials
2nd prize: UPM-Kymmene Oyj, UPM ProFi Deck
3rd prize: Trans Veritas Oy, Energy audits of transport chains

Process category
1st prize: Outotec Oyj, Ferrochrome production technology
2nd prize: AkkuSer Oy, Recycling process for batteries

International Cooperation category
1st prize: Clean Globe International Oy, New, efficient systems for oil spill prevention and response

Purpose of the competition

The European Business Awards for the Environment spotlights companies that support sustainable development in their business operations. The companies receiving awards are considered pioneers in environmentally-friendly policies, products and processes. The competition is held in two phases. Sitra, the Finnish Innovation Fund, coordinates the national competition. The winners of the national awards then participate in the European Awards. The international competition is organised by the Environment Directorate-General of European Commission. The winners of the latest international competition will be announced in Brussels in June 2008, in conjunction of the Green Week.

The jury of the competition

The entries to the Finnish competition were evaluated by a national jury. The jury included Professor Olli Dahl (Helsinki University of Technology), Head of Industry Janne Hietaniemi (Finpro), Director General Lea Kauppi (the Finnish Environment Institute), Technology Director Kari Larjava (VTT Technical Research Centre of Finland ), Professor Peter Lund (Helsinki University of Technology), Executive Director Jukka Noponen (Sitra), Programme Director Mari Pantsar-Kallio (Finnish Cleantech Cluster), Executive Director Hannu Penttilä (the Helsinki Metropolitan Area Council ), Managing Director Katri Penttinen (the Association of Environmental Enterprises ), Programme Manager Riku Vahala (Finnish Water and Waste Water Works Association) and Director Martti Äijälä (Tekes). The jury was chaired by Sitra’s Senior Advisor Pekka Ketonen.

Further information

Jukka Noponen, Executive Director, Environmentel Programme
tel. +358 9 6189 9430

Riina Loukola, Project Manager
tel. +358 9 6189 9468

Pekka Ketonen, Senior Advisor, Chairman of the jury
tel. +358 400 605 220

Read more:

EUROPEAN BUSINESS AWARDS FOR THE ENVIRONMENT 2006 Results of the Cleantech Finland national competition »

What's this about?