Estimated reading time 3 min

The Next Era collects input from international workshops

The aim of The Next Era project is to create a new progressive societal vision that reconciles human well-being with the ecological boundaries of the planet. Additional input to the work is provided by workshops and The Next Era task group.


Jenna Lähdemäki-Pekkinen

Specialist, Foresight (absent), Sitra


The reason for establishing the Next Era initiative is clear: everyone seems to agree we are on the verge of a large transformation, yet surprisingly few ask “where do we want to go?” What kinds of jobs and income do we want? What is the future for democracy and self-organisation? What role does growth play?

In the coming decades, mankind is likely to create unprecedented amounts of wealth. However, we risk displacing large groups of people and putting our planet’s capacity to sustain life in jeopardy.

With the Next Era project, we are aiming to build an understanding of current societal transformations and of how to create a fair society.

The Next Era is bringing together people, projects, and organisations through a series of global workshops throughout 2017. The workshops are timed to coincide with research papers on the topics.

In each workshop, between 30 and 45 specialists in the given topic work on the themes and identify emerging ideas for an open and forward-looking society, examine relevant connections between them and seek ways to further improve them.

The Next Era task group

The objective of the Next Era task group is to participate in creating a new progressive societal vision that seeks to reconcile human well-being with the ecological boundaries of the planet.

The main task of the group is to help Sitra and Demos Helsinki define the key ingredients for the vision on sustainable well-being – guaranteeing its global relevance for the challenges facing us in the 21st century.

The Next Era Task Group consists of the following experts:

  1. Eeva Luhtakallio, Assistant professor, Faculty of Social Sciences, University of Tampere, Finland
  2. Matthew Taylor, Chief Executive of RSA (Royal Society for the encouragement of Arts, Manufactures and Commerce), UK
  3. Tomas Björkman, Founder of Ekskäret Foundation, Sweden
  4. Tuija Talvitie, Executive Director of CMI (Crisis Management Initiative), Finland
  5. Chor Pharn Lee, Principal Strategist for Centre for Strategic Futures, Singapore
  6. Dino Patti Djalal, Founder of Foreign Policy Community of Indonesia.

What's this about?